Missouri Workers’ Compensation Benefits: Understanding the Basics

James M. Hoffmann
3 min readJun 17, 2021

Workers’ compensation benefits exist to help those injured on the job. However, if you have been injured on the job, how do you know which benefits you’re entitled to? Let’s discuss the basics of the types of benefits available in the Missouri workers’ comp system and who is entitled to them.

The Benefits

Under the Missouri workers’ compensation system, you are entitled to benefits under the following categories:

Missouri workers’ compensation is a no-fault system for injuries linked to your employment. Meaning you are generally entitled to all workers’ compensation benefits, regardless of whether you are to blame for the workplace accident or not (there are a few exceptions to this). The amount of benefits you’ll receive depends on whether your injuries resulted in no disability, partial disability, or total disability.

Who Is Entitled to These Benefits?

Your employment classification falls under any of the following categories; you may be able to get worker’s compensation benefits through your employer:

  • Full-time employees
  • Part-time employees
  • Prisoners in work-release programs
  • Employees under appointment or contracts

However, it’s important to note that even if Missouri workers’ comp laws cover your employment classification, that doesn’t mean you’re automatically eligible for compensation. There are other requirements that you must meet to be eligible. For starters, your employer must have workers’ comp insurance coverage. Second, you must have sufficient evidence showing your injury or illness is work-related.

What Does the Law Disqualify?

Under Missouri law, workers’ compensation benefits should be paid regardless of who is to blame for the injuries or illness. However, willful intent to injure yourself won’t win you any compensation. So it is important to speak with an experienced attorney to guide you and help determine whether you qualify for workers compensation or not.

What Are Your Responsibilities?

If you get injured while working, you should notify your employer with 30 days from either:

  • The date you got injured
  • The date when you first noticed the effects of your injuries
  • The date that a physician first diagnosed your injuries

Note: The deadlines are strict under the Missouri Code section 516.120, and you could be denied benefits if you fail to meet these requirements.

Why You Should Avoid Settling a Claim Before Speaking With an Attorney

Worker’s compensation laws and processes can be confusing and overwhelming. We highly recommended that you speak with an experienced workers’ compensation attorney who can help you determine the total amount of benefits you are entitled to.

If you were injured at work and are looking for a workers’ comp attorney, get in touch with our experienced attorneys. At the Law Office of James M. Hoffmann, we are committed to obtaining full and fair compensation for you and providing you with in-depth knowledge regarding your case.



James M. Hoffmann

Workers Compensation Attorney $50M+ Actual case results. No Quotas. James handles your case!